Education financing to reach the most marginalized: Challenges and solutions during COVID-19 response and recovery
Education financing to reach the most marginalized during COVID-19 response and recovery

COVID-19 has affected the education of over one billion people – with girls, children with disabilities and children in emergencies critically impacted. The World Bank projects a potential 10% cut in education budgets. Urgent action is needed to protect and increase education budgets, and to ensure inclusive, quality education for all.

On the margins of the IMF - World Bank 2021 Spring meetings, the World Bank Information Center, Education Cannot Wait, Humanity & Inclusion, Global Campaign for Education, Global Partnership for Education, Inclusive Education and Early Childhood Community of Practice, Open Society Foundations and World Vision International will hold a discussion on how the challenges and solutions to make education financing reach the most marginalized during COVID-19 response and recovery.

Alice Albright, CEO of Global partnership for education will participate in the panel.

Time: 10:00 – 11:30 EDT / 15:00 – 16:30 CET/ 11:00 – 12:30 ART

Speakers:

  • Moderator: Camilla Croso, Director of Education, Open Society Foundation
  • Opening remarks: Vernor Muñoz, Head of Policy, Advocacy and Campaigns, GCE

Panelists

  • Nicolas Trotta, Minister of Education, Argentina
  • Aksel Jakobsen, State Secretary, Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Jaime Saavedra, Global Director for Education, The World Bank
  • Alice Albright, CEO, Global Partnership for Education
  • Yasmine Sherif, Executive Director, Education Cannot Wait

Register for this event

Registrations close on Monday, March 22, 2021.

Education financing to reach the most marginalized during COVID-19 response and recovery
Event type: Conferences
Financing 2025