Riposte à la COVID-19

Fin mars 2020, le bureau de l'UNICEF au Moldova a reçu un financement du GPE de 70 000 $ US destiné à soutenir le ministère de l'Éducation dans l'élaboration d'un plan de riposte au COVID-19, en coordination avec les bailleurs de fonds et les partenaires au développement.

Le Moldova a utilisé ces fonds pour améliorer l'accès à l'enseignement à distance en fournissant des appareils informatiques aux élèves et aux enseignants, et en distribuant des modules d'apprentissage aux enfants les plus démunis et sans accès aux technologies. Pour garantir la qualité de l'enseignement à distance et du bien-être des enfants, des éducateurs ont été formés en ligne sur la manière de travailler avec les parents pour soutenir l'éducation des jeunes enfants.

L'éducation en Moldova

Le gouvernement de Moldova considère l'éducation comme une priorité nationale et reconnaît son rôle dans la construction d'une société basée sur la connaissance. L'éducation est considérée comme un facteur déterminant de la qualité de vie et des opportunités. Le secteur de l'éducation est en train de passer d'un système traditionnel centralisé à un système centré sur les apprenants.

Les principaux défis du Moldova sont liés à l'offre d'une éducation de la petite enfance de qualité, en particulier pour les minorités et les enfants défavorisés, ainsi qu’à la gestion, au suivi, et à l'évaluation du secteur de l'éducation.

Infos et derniers blogs

12 septembre 2018
Nouveau financement pour Moldova
Le Secrétariat du Partenariat mondial pour l'éducation a approuvé un financement de 250 000 dollars en faveur du Moldova, afin que le pays procède à un examen à mi-parcours de la stratégie actuelle du...

Dernier financement

Un groupe d'élèves posant devant la caméra dans une école au Moldova.

Un groupe d'élèves posant devant la caméra dans une école au Moldova.

CREDIT: PME
Objectif de développement: améliorer l'accès, la qualité et l'inclusion de l'éducation préscolaire dans le pays.
Allocations: 4 353 014 $US
Années: 2012-2014
Agent partenaire: WB
Utilisation: 4 353 014 $US

Le financement le plus récent du GPE de 4,35 millions de dollars était axé sur l'amélioration de l'accès, de la qualité et de l'inclusion pour l'éducation préscolaire.

Les quatre éléments du financement étaient :

  1. Accroître l'accès à l'éducation préscolaire grâce à la réhabilitation ou la rénovation de l'infrastructure ainsi que l'équipement des installations avec du mobilier et du matériel pédagogique.
  2. Étendre l'accès aux écoles maternelles pour les enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux et pour les enfants vulnérables en :
    • favorisant les services intégrés et inclusifs du développement de la petite enfance
    • soutenant les ajustements nécessaires aux locaux
    • fournissant les équipements requis pour la création de centres pour les enfants handicapés.

Financements

Tous les montants sont en dollars américains.

Type de financement Années Allocations Utilisation Agent partenaire
Mise en œuvre d'un programme 2012-2014 4 353 014 4 353 014 WB
2006-2010 8 768 414 8 768 414 WB
Préparation d'un plan sectoriel 2020-2021 250 000 0 UNICEF
2018-2019 250 000 250 000 UNICEF
  Total 13 621 428 13 371 428  
Dernière mise à jour : 18 mai 2021

Dans le cadre de ses investissements pour soutenir les efforts de plaidoyer et de responsabilité sociale des organisations de la société civile, l’Éducation à voix haute du GPE soutient l’Alliance des ONG actives dans le domaine de la protection sociale de l'enfant et de la famille (APSCF) sur la période 2019-2021.

Cette aide s'appuie sur les 11 ans de soutien du Fonds de la société civile pour l'éducation (FSCE) aux coalitions nationales de l'éducation, pour leur engagement dans le dialogue sur les politiques sectorielles de l'éducation.

Le GPE avait également accordé à l’Alliance des ONG actives dans le domaine de la protection sociale de l'enfant et de la famille (APSCF) un financement du FSCE pour soutenir son engagement dans le dialogue sur les politiques sectorielles et renforcer la prise en compte des voix des citoyens dans les programmes de réformes du secteur visant à garantir une éducation de qualité, équitable et mieux financée.

Évolution du secteur éducatif

Les graphiques ci-dessous montrent les progrès globaux réalisés dans le secteur de l'éducation au Moldova et les données du GPE montrent les progrès réalisés par le pays pour 16 des indicateurs suivis dans le cadre de résultats du GPE.

Taux d’achèvement du primaire

Taux d’achèvement du 1er cycle du secondaire

Taux d’enfants non scolarisés en âge du primaire

Taux d’adolescents non scolarisés en âge du 1er cycle du secondaire

Taux brut d’inscription au préscolaire

Indice de parité entre les sexes pour le taux de non-scolarisation

Dépenses publiques pour l’éducation en % du PIB

Ratio élèves/enseignants formés

Enseignants formés

Source : Banque mondiale - Données sur l'éducation

Les données sur l'éducation sont compilées par l'Institut de statistique de l'UNESCO à partir des réponses officielles à des enquêtes et à partir de rapports fournis par les autorités de l'éducation de chaque pays.

Dernière mise à jour 27 mai 2021

COVID-19 response

In late March 2020, the UNICEF office in Moldova received a GPE grant of US$70,000 to support the Ministry of Education with developing a COVID-19 response plan in coordination with donors and development partners.

Moldova has used to funds to increase access to distance learning by providing IT devices for students and teachers and distributing learning packages to the most deprived children with no access to technologies. To ensure the quality of distance learning and child well-being, educators were trained online on how to work with parents to support the education of young children.

Education in Moldova

The government of Moldova identifies education as a national priority and recognizes the role of education in building a knowledge-based society. Education is considered as a determinant of quality of life and opportunities. The education sector in the country is transitioning from a centralized, traditional system to a student-centered one.

Moldova’s main challenges relate to early childhood education coverage, especially for minority and disadvantaged children, and the management, monitoring, and evaluation of the education sector.

Education 2020, the country's sector plan, encompasses seven strategic objectives:

  1. Increase access and level of participation in education and training by expanding access to quality pre-school education, providing access to inclusive education and a 12-year general compulsory education, increase attractiveness and access to vocational/technical education, and increase participation in higher education and adult training programs.
  2. Ensure relevance of study for life, active citizenship, and career success through adjusting the content of early education, ensuring the relevance of primary, secondary, and vocational/technical education, modernizing university curriculum, and promoting scientific research.
  3. Ensure the effective integration of ICT in education through providing educational institutions with modern equipment, developing digital literacy, and increasing the efficiency of school management through information technology.
  4. Develop, support, and motivate teachers to ensure quality education through increasing the attractiveness of the teaching profession, balancing the supply and demand of teachers, improving initial teacher training, and creating an efficient system of continuous training.
  5. Design and institutionalize an effective system of evaluation, monitoring, and quality assurance of the education system through developing national standards and creating an institutional framework for quality assurance.
  6. Optimizing resource management through improving educational institutions planning and management, achieving efficiency in educational financing, modernizing the infrastructure of educational institutions, and providing textbooks and teaching materials.
  7. Achieving social cohesion while providing quality education through expanding students’ participation in decision-making, ensuring effective parent education, and developing partnerships in the field of education.

Latest blogs and news

Latest grant

A few students pose for the camera in a primary school in Moldova.

A few students pose for the camera in a primary school in Moldova.

CREDIT: GPE
Development objective: improve the access, quality and inclusiveness of preschool education in Moldova.
Allocation: US$4,353,014
Years: 2012-2014
Grant agent: WB
Utilization: US$4,353,014

The most recent GPE grant of US$4.35 million was focused on improving access, quality, and inclusiveness of preschool education.

The four components of the grant were:

  1. Increasing access to preschool education through rehabilitating or renovating infrastructure and equipping facilities with furniture, equipment, and pedagogic materials.
  2. Extending access to preschools to special needs and vulnerable children through:
    • promoting integrated inclusive early childhood development services
    • supporting architectural adjustments to premises
    • providing equipment required for establishment of centers for children with disabilities.
  1. Improving the quality of preschool education through:
    • revising the preschool norms and regulations
    • providing teacher training
    • developing teaching materials
    • developing and piloting a school readiness assessment tool.
  2. Strengthening project management, monitoring and evaluation, and communication.

The ministry of education led the program with the World Bank as grant agent and UNICEF as coordinating agency.

Source: World Bank project appraisal document. July 2011

Grants

All amounts are in US dollars.

Grant type Years Allocations Utilization Grant agent
Program implementation 2012-2014 4,353,014 4,353,014 WB
2006-2010 8,768,414 8,768,414 WB
Sector plan development 2020-2021 250,000 211,957 UNICEF
2018-2019 250,000 250,000 UNICEF
  Total 13,621,428 13,583,385  
Data last updated: October 04, 2021

As part of its investment in civil society advocacy and social accountability efforts, GPE’s Education Out Loud fund is supporting the Alliance of Active NGOs in the field of Child and Family Social Protection (APSCF) for the 2019-2021 period.

This builds on 11 years of Civil Society Education Fund (CSEF) support to national education coalitions for their engagement in education sector policy dialogue.

GPE had provided the Alliance of Active NGOs in the field of Child and Family Social Protection (APSCF) with a grant from the CSEF to support its engagement in education sector policy dialogue and citizens’ voice in education quality, equity, and financing and sector reform.

Education sector progress

The graphs below show overall progress in the education sector in Moldova, and GPE data shows the country progress on 16 indicators monitored in the GPE Results Framework.

Primary completion rate

Lower secondary completion rate

Out-of-school rate for children of primary school age

Out-of-school rate for adolescents of lower secondary school age

Pre-primary gross enrollment rate

Gender parity index for out-of-school rate

Public expenditure on education as share of GDP

Students/trained teacher ratio

Teachers trained

Source: World Bank - Education Data
Data on education are compiled by the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Institute for Statistics from official responses to surveys and from reports provided by education authorities in each country.

Last updated May 27, 2021